Skip to main content

Job Hunting...


...Much like growing old...is NOT for sissies.



PE#1 (prospective employer): Can you lift over 50 pounds for over 6 hours a day? Boxes of books and such?
Me: Yes. I can do that.
PE#1: Oh. Um. OK. Well, I'm kinda looking for a guy-its a full day of lifting.
Me: Ok. I understand.
PE#1: Sorry, I should have been clear.
Me: No worries. Good luck in your search.

PE#2 The position you applied for in the office is filled, but I have other positions in the store that are available. Do you have any restaurant experience?
Me: I have a great deal of restaurant experience, would you like to review my food service resume?
PE#2 Yes, please.
Me: Great! I'll send along to you.
(two days later)
PE#2 I reviewed your resume and regret to inform you that we have no open management positions available at this time. The open positions we have available are typically counter and drive through-which we find you to be drastically overqualified for. If something comes up soon, we will be happy to schedule an interview. Thank you for your interest.
Me; (to self) ASSHOLE.

Me: Hi, my friend has recommended me to your agency, and we actually interviewed for the same position last year. If you remember me, I think I was one of two of the final candidates and you went with someone else. I see you have the same position open again, which I feel would be a great fit-given my seasonal position in my career. I'd love to sit down and chat again if you are interested.
PE#3 Yes, I do remember you. Good to hear from you. Actually, I do not have a copy of your resume handy...can you please send me another?
Me; Absolutely.
PE#3 I can look it over and call you in the next few days if that's ok?
Me: No problem at all. I can be available any time.
PE#3 Great-thanks for calling!
Me: You're welcome, I'll send that resume right away.
PE#3 Talk soon, and thanks!
(7 days later)
Me: Hello, Mr. ___ I was following up to see if you did receive my resume as requested.
I can be available at your convenience to sit down and discuss the open position.
Thank you again for your time.
(2 days later)

No response.

PE#4 (After a 1 hour phone interview and a 1 hour long basic skills and marketing test that I passed with flying colors.)
I should mention that you will have to pay in advance for licensing to be able to perform the job. It would be somewhere around $1000.
But, you can use the license anywhere. So it's worth it.
Is this something you would be interested in?
Me: (in my head) WTF????!!!!
Me: (on the phone) Oh. Well, I don't think I will have that kind of cash up front at the present time, I'm sorry. Could I work for awhile and earn it back through payroll deduction? I'm open to that.
PE#4 I'm sorry, but no. We can't afford to pay for every prospective candidate in case they decide the job isn't for them. I'm sure you understand.
Me: Sure. Thanks again for your time.
Me: (after hanging up the phone) ASSHOLE.


I don't get these people.

Every stinkin' year I go through this shit. And it's not only destroying my entire birthday/Mother's Day weekend...but also making me depressed.

It's like-between hearing at home: You have to find something soon!
To the voice in my own head saying: Gee, having some money to be able to have dinner at your own birthday party would be fucking swell.

I'm pretty much over it already.

The worst of it is. I may just have to quit my coaching job. The one thing (besides my husband and my kids) that truly gives me joy.
All because this endless cycle every year...and now child support that I have to pay-for a kid that I wish was with me full time. The same kid who is mostly unhappy living with his father (all because he has good character and is sticking to his guns and because he wants to play football)
And paying child support to a man who barely ever paid his until my son turned 12.
12 year in arrears. We struggled, we suffered, and we went without...
All because his father never paid.
Now, I am paying HIM. And now I am unemployed.

And as usual...no one sees my worth in the job market. And the ones that do...won't work around my speech schedule in the fall.

Same old shit, same month. Every year.

Hey Sallie Mae. You want that college loan money back...why don't you just come and take back this Goddamned degree. I'm not using it anyway.

-Another day in paradise, as they say.

And a depressing Mother's Day and 47th Birthday ahead.

Good times.

Someone better buy me a fucking chocolate cake. That's all I'm sayin'

Digging my whole.

XOXO,
Frustratedgirl.








Comments

Popular posts from this blog

They Don't All...

...Wear Capes. I can appreciate the upcoming holiday for the most part. I mean, I love my son-and love my daughter. They are by far, the best reason I can think of to carry on-even when life seems long. (which isn't often, to qualify) But, Mother's Day always sparks a bit of melancholy for me. Ok so,  My mom. She's dead. Ok, ok...I am not leaving it there-relax. My mom...who I judge, a lot. Yes, even though she's gone. I still do it. I think of my skills as a mom and hers and think-OFTEN- that...my mom could have done this. She could have accomplished this. She could have been better as far as I am concerned. She left me with so much shit-as you have probably seen in my reading. My neurosis is SO deep. My anxiety, my fear, my negativity, my coldness, my jaded and misanthropic nature, my inability to connect with people, and my anger. The shit. Sometimes I look at her picture on the wall, and I don't feel sad...I feel pissed off. And then guilt becaus...

The Cottage Cheese Stands Alone...

I love summer.  I love the small (the middle between summer and fall)  I love fall.  Not a fan of spring. Awful allergy inducing, rainy, constant shat of weather. Windy, cold one day, hot the next. Zero idea of what to wear to work...spring SUCKS.  And don't even get me started on winter in Illinois. BAG OF DICKS level, suckage.  Hate SO much.  Summer is my jam.  Yes, it's hot. Yep...fat girl. It does not mix. The humidity is awful. That corn sweat is definitely a thing.  Underboob, underfupa, underarms. Sweaty, gross, mess, stinkage.  Oh stop cringing...it's not like you can't relate.  I mean, unless you are a skinny chick/dude. In which case...whatever. Enjoy the icicle snot rockets forming under your nose in the cool of a properly air conditioned home.  (If you keep your thermostat higher than 74 when it's hot-don't invite me to your terrarium, you lizard.)  Anyway, my point.  For this summer lovin' girl, or old lady-wh...

The Scale...

...Was wrong. So my birthday gift was great. I mentioned it before. A digital scale that measures weight, body composition, fat, etc... A nice scale. It doesn't work for me. Apparently, you have to stand statue still and if you shift your weight even a millimeter-it scrolls back and forth on numbers and just picks one at random. Fuck. So, what I thought was a 16 pound deficit-was not. In an effort to gain understanding of a correct weight...I accompanied my hubby to his physical therapy appointment and asked his therapist if I could step on their scale to be accurate. It wasn't calibrated. It didn't work either. Damnit, man. So, since my own GP is close...right across the street, I decided to see if they could let me weigh in there. They have a jumbo scale. Proper and steady. The conversation went like this: Receptionist: Hi, how can I help you? Me: Um...weird request, but Dr. G would like me to monitor my weight because of my fasting blood sugar, I...